UPCOMING COURSES:    11th October - (New Course) Maximising Success in 100% Examinations in GCSE English [BOOK NOW]    8th November (New Course) Teaching Literacy Across the Curriculum [BOOK NOW]

English Consultancy | Courses | Tuition | Training

Call:  0191 406 6377
Email:  cthomas@everythingenglisheducation.co.uk

Course Feedback

 

Lots of interesting topics discussed, it felt relevant and tailored to the group. – Resources and ideas for teaching language through literature were particularly useful – I have already been thinking of my own ideas.

Lots of practical ideas for linking language and literature  – Rethink the way I approach language teaching – I will be organising a planning session with my department.

Sharing good practice. Sharing up to date information from DFE, exam boards and Ofqual. – I have eleven action points that I want to implement when I get back to school – these will be shared with the various teams I line manage and share with my DH – my line manager.

Being made more aware of the negatives of 100% examinations and sharing other experiences. – Then points made on the ppt will be shard and delivered to colleagues – cascading to my peers.

Putting things into perspective – very useful for preparing next year’s scheme of work – I like the refocusing of teaching the language through the literature.  – The ideas will be shared with the department and through in school CPD.

Mental health side was useful – resources were great, lots of talking, I loved this! – STOPP cards, making the catch-up Literature booklets. Weaving language into lessons – and using tutor time devoted to students, not revision.

Christine is funny and warm and engaging!

Very engaging leader! – Inspiring and enjoyable session. It will help to create supportive resources for both students and teachers.

Friendly presenter – some nice resources

Very relaxed and collegiate. Full of interesting tips and strategies. Supportive and a chance to moan!! – the information will definitely help teachers in my CPD sessions.

Nice to share experiences with other colleagues – some great resources shared – using STOPP cards and critical behaviours with inclusion staff ans embed some language techniques through the literature teaching. – I will be running CPD sessions based on this.

Practical and useful advice – considering how to implement as a teacher for the benefit of the students.

  • Implementing some of the ways into literature through language
  • – stressbusting for a particular group.

Strategies to make English more engaging – Using activities to make English more relevant – Share with the department in CPD

Hearing other’s perspectives and ideas. Practical tips – Use the ‘An Inspector Calls’ ideas to promote intertwining language and literature. – Share with my student teachers.

Many inspirational ideas from your presentation.

Starting to hear how badly teachers feel about their current experiences – need to revisit the differences between learning and assessment – coursework is not simply another mode of testing. Information will be disseminated through blog and journal and consultations etc.

Superb insight into the links between low self-esteem and low ability. I will use the information with SIS in discussion and through network meetings. – Lots of really good ideas and timely reminders about keeping literature alive. I am going to teach the language units through the literature – going to embed. Sharing ppts and embedding n SWWs.

Really useful and practical advice and tips – thank you for the hand outs and ideas – share with colleagues in schools.

The session has covered the important issues and techniques to deal with them. It helped me understand the way GCSE can be approached in a much more professional way. – I can take with me quite a few resources to use in my teaching as well as advice for my students. – I will use twitter to share the information too.

Preparing for 100% Examinations in GCSE English NATE Conference 2017 – Nottingham University

“Christine Thomas has provided our English department with invaluable support and advice regarding the new GCSE and A Level English Language and Literature specifications. During her time with us Christine has identified needs, shared strategies and provided solutions which will enable our department to run efficiently and most importantly, ensure our learners needs are catered for.”

Ancha Stieler

Oasis Enfield, English Department Training - Up to May 2017

Course Feedback:

  • Excellent strategy for getting students to link ideas
  • Excellent engagement throughout with the aim of linking to different strands in education
  • Provocative and stimulating activities which led to higher order thinking – being challenged to link several factors was challenging and interesting.
  • Challenging topic and content. It really made me think about how I can link different elements of my lesson and progressing this into further learning.
  • Engaging and thought provoking.
  • Actually completing a task that could be used practically in a classroom setting and seeing the levels of challenge and the stages.
Questioning CPD Churchill Community College - January 2017

Course Feedback:

‘Helpful in terms of use of social media’

‘Useful to also take time to think about how we communicate collectively – I must start blogging and tweeting!’

‘A good mix of interactive and group work. – ‘Make my emails less abrupt!’

‘Helped us focus as a team in common and get everyone on the same page.’

‘Interactive and enjoyable. I will use the notes and handouts for reference. It has made me realise how much I need to plan and organise thoughts and writing in advance’

‘A really good session. Very relevant’

‘Really useful with regard to blogs and social media. – I might learn to Tweet!’

‘Very useful in terms of how to structure my writing. I will ensure I adapt my writing to my audience. I now need to have more confidence in my own writing.’

‘Grammar section was useful, and I now appreciate the importance of adapting language to a target audience.’

Writing for a Target Audience - Academic Health Science Network - North East, November 2016

Strengths of the session:

“Peter’s CPD session for Growth Mindset have an ethos of high challenge, low risk. He really makes you think about what you do and the impact this has. His style of delivery and questioning fosters a supportive atmosphere but one where you are really encouraged to think.”

“I thought the content of the Growth Mindset CPD was very interesting and the way it was presented gave lots of opportunities for thought and discussion.  I will now consider ways to help students ‘get over’ a fixed mind set and try to create a classroom environment where it is okay to make mistakes and get things wrong.”

“There was a relaxed but purposeful atmosphere to session. Thoughtful discussions with colleagues were useful and encouraging. The resources and worksheets were accessible and thought provoking.

 

 

 

Growth Mindset - Churchill Community College November 2016

Strengths of the session:

  • Resources, engaging presenter, good circulation and probing.
  • Clearly a knowledgeable presenter who has a brilliant knowledge of Teaching & Learning.
  • Plenty of practical resources and ideas to use straight away. Engaging presenter.
  • Strategies that can be used straight away.
  • Opportunities to share ideas.
  • Very relatable tasks that were applicable to all subjects.
  • Personable– a good range of strategies and ideas that can be incorporated throughout the teaching.
  • Variety of strategies – something to use with all classes.
  • Useful resources/insight into different questioning.
  • A variety of resources/strategies to use with every class. Very adaptable.
  • New ideas. Working with people from other departments.

How the learning from the sessions will improve practice:

  • Apply questioning methods to improve student answers – specifically year 11
  • Allow pupils more time to respond and use more varied questioning techniques.
  • Build in time/resources for questioning.
  • Use strategies.
  • I shall try two of the techniques I have not heard of before.
  • Did use them in lessons and allowed me to re-think my responses and re-engage with the students.
  • Use a range of techniques- particularly pose, pause, pounce, bounce to develop ideas.
  • Continue to develop questioning styles/ strategies.
  • Continue to improve questioning, use higher order and targeted questions.
  • Try to embed more strategies to encourage student responses.
Effective Questioning -February 2016 Peter Thomas - Norham High School

The strengths of the session:

  • Practical ideas which can easily be implemented.
  • Working with other members of staff within school.
  • Using real life examples of work to discuss how our practice has improved.
  • Lots of useful and specific advice.
  • Reminders of strategies to engage learners and demonstrate progress over time.
  • Good for sharing ideas with others.
  • Great ideas for improvement put into context.

How learning from the sessions will improve practice:

  • Work on questioning and using to inform planning.
  • Top tips to ensure that teaching to high level (outstanding) is sustainable in the long term.
  • Improve effectiveness of feedback.
  • Improve challenge of tasks.
  • To demonstrate/evidence effective teaching over time.
  • Big focus on questioning. Create a display for reference in class.
  • Positive questioning will be used in lessons.
  • Continue to work on feedback.
Outstanding Teaching Over Time - February 2016 - delivered by Peter Thomas at Norham High School

All delegates gave the course the highest rating.

The strengths of the sessions:

  • The fact that the information and content covered is applicable to teaching and learning within lessons.
  • Clear aims for the session with clearly set out ideas.
  • Time to discuss how and when and which classes each idea could be best used with.
  • Time to try ideas out.
  • Practical strategies for use within lessons.

How will you use today’s learning to improve your practice?

  • A, B, C of questioning
  • 5-5-1
  • Set your own homework
  • Exam Questions
  • Cold calling (from PT whole school)
  • Trial the most obviously useable ideas first and see how each can be used with different topics in different ways
  • I will use Question.Answer in therapy sessions – therapy sessions in relation to past exam paper practice by the pupils – they will go to the answer they put (multi-choice questions) and justify their answers to their peers.

 

Effective Questioning - February 2016- Peter Thomas

Strengths of the session:

  • Specific and targeted advice
  • An empathetic exploration of the issues we face
  • Information – detailed research/material. Presentation style and approachability. Knowledge
  • Enjoyed the small group; closer attention to detail facilitated; good to see marked scripts. Detailed knowledge of the problems we face re this paper

How we can implement the ideas for the session:

  • By applying a better understanding of the boards expectation
  • Structures / extra knowledge to feed to kids / potentially restructure revision lessons
  • Create more focussed revision materials for the skills required for each section

I just wanted to say a massive thank you for the support and ideas you gave me and my department when you visited in January.

I have not got them all yet – as our school has not officially released them – but early signs show that our A* in English language went up from 19% in 2015 to 42% this year. I am so pleased!

City of London Freemen's School, Surrey Department Training for IGCSE

The session was highly praised by all of the delegates.

Strengths of the session:

  • Sharing ideas about the linear structure of the new GCSE and how to embed learning and rewards
  • Lots of opportunities to discuss and share ideas with others.
  • Soundly based on experience, research and common sense

Improve practice by:

  • Use strategies to teach the new spec
  • Looking at ways of supporting students and how we manage and develop expectations
  • To give students heightened expectations
  • Create GCSE learning Packs to close the gaps in linear to compensate for attendance issues and learning difficulties
  • Create the reading room
  • Plan a year 11 Open Evening
  • Use the information to re-cap the whole school focus on Literacy.

 

Closing the Gap in English and Literacy - October 2015

Delegate feedback included:

‘Well presented, well prepared – will definitely be using the ideas.’

‘Interesting information, thought provoking and did help to think about effective questioning’

‘It was great to have an alternative to Bloom’s!’

‘Lots of good ideas to use in the classroom. I will consider better means of allowing students think and encourage better responses from them.’

‘Practical strategies that don’t need resources. Opportunities for thought and discussion to model the experience of questioning.’

 

 

 

Effective Questioning - Kenton School Whole School CPD - 165 delegates June 2016
It was honestly one of the best CPD training sessions I’ve had. Answered loads of questions and worries I had and gave lots of very practical hints and stimulus tips for the teaching the course. You told me it would though didn’t you!
 
I feel much more confident now because of all the fab resources she gave us and how clearly she explained everything.
In fact, I’m really looking forward to teaching IGCSE now and feel I have the freedom to teach my subject in a way I had when I first started out teaching as an NQT; I certainly did’t feel like I had this much freedom under AQA and WJEC.
 
So anyway, I just thought I got more out of that 3 hours than I have out of a lot of other external speakers courses for a long time. It was mint!

As we are entering a large cohort of pupils for iGCSE at Kenton for the first time we asked Christine from ‘Everything English’ to offer some training to the English team. The session was extremely helpful and staff felt much more confident in their ability to deliver all aspects of the coursework, speaking test and exam. Christine shared lots of tips, advice and we also had a very valuable moderation session.

In addition to this, we took two groups of 30 – 50 pupils to St James’ Park to work with Christine and her team to complete portfolio work. This was a fantastic opportunity for pupils, not only could they plan and draft two assignments in a short space of time, but they were also extremely engaged in the range of tasks and enjoyed the experience immensely. Pupils completed two engaging responses; both tasks were accessible, allowing pupils to be creative and express their own opinion on whether it’s acceptable to speak with a Geordie accent or not. Of course, the pupils had lots of opinions on this and it sparked a great debate amongst the students. It allowed the pupils to leave their normal classroom environment and they were immersed in their surroundings, given the chance to explore the stadium and receive fresh ideas and perspectives from Christine and her staff. The experience really boosted morale amongst peers and made them determined to complete their portfolio to a very high standard!

Congratulations to Kenton for their excellent English results and the amazing levels of progress achieved by their students in the Summer results.

We returned to St James’ Park on the 24th February 2015 with Year 11 students from Kenton School. We had a great day, and the students worked hard, and enjoyed the whole experience immensely!

Helen Thompson and Jennifer Darling - Most recent course, IGCSE October 2014

‘A brilliant course – thank you’.

‘A subject specialist who was fully able to clearly explain the syllabi and provide strong examples of planning, resources and ideas.’

‘A very useful and informative course’

‘I will take the long term draft back to the department and work collaboratively to implement it’

‘I can’t wait to start collating the resources, and get started!!’

Preparing for GCSE Linear English Language and English Literature

Presentation – very personable approach, clearly inspirational for attendees.
•I will feedback relevant info to my clients as we look to support English departments we work with.

Good overview of the new demands at KS4 and how the curriculum links. I enjoyed sharing Long Term Plans and hearing model examples.
•Make some changes to our KS3 LTP
•Share some of the resources with my department

Breaking down of the progress levels and how to incorporate KS4 criteria into KS3
•Work on KS3 planning
•Writing long term plans

Improve practice by writing long term plans with cross curricular links.

Needed a longer session!
•Lots of ideas
•- Will have more clarity and focus in redeveloping long term plans to fit mew spec.

 

The group discussion tasks were very useful in the sharing of ideas and problem solving
•Embedding SOLO taxonomy into the KS3 mastery curriculum

 

Strengths – the varied resources
•Ideas are helpful to inform KS3 planning and resources for Teachit

 

Practical examples delivered with clarity

– I will begin discussions in my department about the logic of half term changes – also marks for SPAG to run up to the GCSEs

 

Helpful ideas for how to deal with KS3 changes and assessments
•I will share what I have with the department and KS3 leader

 

Allowed me to reflect on my practice through the resources used, I liked the emphasis on creative teaching in English

– More interactive activities, planning SOW
•How to work without levels and assessments.

 

Very thought provoking, friendly and full of useful ideas to take away
•I am going to spend time in the next 4 weeks planning new assessments in KS3
•Thought provoking
•Encouraging resilience leading to GCSE
•Keeping curriculum simple but incorporating depth

 

Practical and not patronising – assumed we knew about the changes – I liked that, THANKS! Good pace.
•INSET with the English department

 

The presenter was passionate about the topic, but I felt that it could have been structured better to make sure we properly tackled the difficult nature of writing a new curriculum
•I will use the idea of using numbers to track progress – it is like APP but helps to keep it somewhat different.

(In 2 hours!!! – My focus was adapting not creating…)

Stress on creative approach
•References on our literacy website – focus on functional literacy.

International school:
•Update of UK developments
•Streamlining of KS3
•Emphasis on SPAG and linear development through key stages
•Looking at assessment and moderation for 2015-2016

Really useful – I am a publisher looking into upcoming issues for KS3 and this really helped outline some of the new challenges. Thank you!

Very clear and accessible.

Discussions regarding new KS3 levels – changes to NC and Government links
I will take the ideas for assessments and the updates regarding Ofsted.
Examples and practical applications were a strength
– I will be re-evaluating long term plans and schemes of work.

Implementing a Successful KS3 Curriculum - The NATE Conference 2015

Delegates gave the course the highest rating.

Strengths of the session

  • A personalised course that also contained the most update Ofsted information.
  • Lots of useful information, that also served to confirm good practice.
  • Planning advice, useful resources and excellent ideas to update our website.
  • Useful for preparing students for high school
  • Planning and direction for delivering poetry and targeting more able.
  • Appreciate the need to be clear with the students about audience, purpose and the conventions of the genre.

Implementing suggested practice:

  • We will be implementing reading age tests
  • Establish a clear sense of audience when teaching writing
  • More confidence in using higher level texts
  • Planning a unit using higher level texts based on the specific needs of the students.
  • ‘Chicken Clicking’ ideas
  • Update website
  • Responding to texts during guided reading
  • Implementing strategies for measuring progress in reading
  • Encouraging audience awareness

‘I just wanted to say thank you again for today. I feel buzzing with new ideas for my school and for my career.’

Raising Attainment in English at Key Stage 2 May12th 2015

All delegates gave the session the top rating!

Delegates comments included:

‘The delivery was very informative and clear.’

‘Clear, precise ideas, we were actually given excellent resources, rather than just discussing ideas.’

‘Covered all aspects of the IGCSE – very useful information about coursework, exam skills and speaking and listening.’

‘Clear and knowledgeable explanations combined with excellent subject knowledge resulted in a positive and informative CPD session.’

‘Very clear – made swift progress and we were provided with very useful materials.’

‘It was useful to have the time and opportunity to discuss and ask questions.’

‘It was great to have the opportunity to all work together and establish stronger links and a common approach.’

The training received will improve practice by:

‘Giving me new ideas about the delivery of the Extend paper.’

‘Useful guidance linked to the examination responses.’

‘Use literature to teach the language – plus, I have a better understanding of each question which will have a positive impact on my pupils.’

‘I will definitely be using the suggested ideas for coursework.’

‘Using topical ideas to extend and develop coursework.’

‘The ideas will undoubtedly help me plan ahead for preparing the students for the extend paper.’

 

‘Thank you for an excellent session!’

 

IGCSE Traing to support the amalgamation of Sunnydale and Greenfield School

A very informative course. I felt much more confident in implementing literacy in other areas for the school, not just English. A great opportunity to share good practice. Great book suggestions. Good way to highlight the importance of literacy in all subjects. Well organised – excellent coverage – lots of ideas. I left with a clear action plan, which led to OFSTED reporting that:

  •  The school’s focus on improving students’ literacy skills and the quality of teaching in English has resulted in students gaining more confidence in writing and having more pleasure in reading.”
  •  “For some students, small-group and one-to-one teaching of reading is helping to accelerate their progress. These students, who enjoy going to the ‘reading room’, benefit from the constructive and timely individual support and encouragement they receive from teachers and teaching assistants.”
Improving Whole School Literacy course - Karen Foreman, Norham High School

Delegate feedback from the Improving Whole School Literacy course:

All delegates gave the top rating.

  • Plenty of ideas to take back to base
  • Lots of ideas to implement
  • We will be using the ideas to develop the whole school literacy policy, as well as setting up a full working party.
  • Many opportunities to ask questions – and all questions were discussed and answered knowledgably, and in full.
  • We will be looking into launching the Art Award through the Rooted in Reading scheme.
  • I will organise a book scrutiny and use this as a staring point for identifying which staff require support.
  • The ideas will be used in both our department and our whole school CPD sessions.

I would highly recommend this training to other professionals.

 

Improving Whole School Literacy November 2014

The strength of the session were the clarity of the information, the pace and the focus of interest and the style of delivery.

The information will undoubtedly inform the summer planning for the new course – we can hit the ground running, knowing we are prepared.

The session has given me the knowledge to deliver to the department, and I have a useful and informative summary to present.

A Level English Literature - 2015 Ready, April 2015
  • Great knowledge of the different specifications
  • A great deal of interesting ideas to help engage the students
  • Useful texts and  reading book list
  • Use of time to plan and discuss the different specifications was extremely useful, we have a full body of information to take back to school and discuss.
A Level Language - 2015 Ready, April 2015

 

The strengths of the session included:

  • We’ve been given some brilliant resources to use, all of which clearly demonstrate how to integrate the new KS3 curriculum, This, to me is brilliant and helpful, as on previous courses I’ve been told how things should be done, but have never been given anything to use..
  • I’ve also found it extremely useful meeting other HODs and also having a session leader who knows what she is talking about.
  • Great range of resources- paper and digital
  • Opportunities for discussion forum style
  • Up to date knowledge
  • Informed and up to date information.
  • Practical information – we were shown how to implement successful strategies to accommodate the changes in English.
  • Range of resources provided to give positive examples
  • Clear, detailed knowledge of changes to the curriculum
  • The session was well structured and time was given for discussions and questions. The resources are really useful in exemplifying how to embed curriculum changes.
  • Thorough knowledge of up and coming changes
  • The provision of well developed resources, and KS3 planning is a definite bonus.
  • Well explained. Full range of topics covered.
  • We have been given lots of ideas to take back to the classroom.
  • I have been impressed with the subject knowledge of the course leader.

How they will be using the ideas generated by the course:

  • Design new schemes of working KS3 to reflect the changes at KS4
  • Design a new assessment schemes for KS3
  • Use ideas for long and medium term plans starting in September
  • Embed end of term tests
  • Embed 19th Century texts
  • Tighten up and adapt Medium term plans
  • New ideas about how to focus on grammar

Post course feedback –

‘Thanks again for the training! My department and I really benefitted from it.’

Feedback from the course evaluation sheet, Implementing a Successful Key Stage 3 English Curriculum, 24th April 2014.

A great course where we received practical advice and information that can be actioned immediately!

Delegates will be implementing:

– focused cluster meetings

– Adapting SoLP

– Organising catch up packages

– Launching whole school CPD to improve literacy across the school

 

Glosing the Gap through English and Literacy March 2015

All delegates gave the course the top rating.

The strengths of the session included:
• Practical, informative and worthwhile. Friendly delivery and someone leading the session who understands what it is like to be on the front line!
• Ability to chair and answer questions with a feeling that the trainer’s knowledge is secure
• Discursive approach
• Opportunities to ask questions and share ideas
• Provision of exemplar material
• Useful resources and examples, coverage of content and differences between core and extended
• Speaking and Listening examples – useful for moderation purposes.
• Approachable, knowledgeable and experienced trainer

How delegates feel today’s course will improve their practice:
• It will inform a more efficient delivery of the course – especially in terms of exam preparation between now and June
• Support the creation of a new SOL for the department
• Immediately inform staff (and students!) of the changes to the 2015 papers and change focus of some of our teaching,
• Feed information into department training and conversations with SLT
• Use the suggested exam approaches with the students.
• Sharper focus on exam preparation.

Disseminating learning:
• Information will be put onto the school intranet
• Use exemplar materials for moderation purposes
• Staff meeting with department. Share resources and web links
• Sharing with department members to train the teachers in delivering IGCSE.
• Share ideas with colleagues at their department meeting.

Managing and Preparing Cambridge IGCSE 1st October 2014.

‘Christine provided us with clear information, and a good bank of resources that we can incorporate into our teaching, examination preparation and future coursework ideas.’

‘Exciting ideas for making teaching examination skills more engaging. Great examples of how to integrate teaching exam skills through literature.’

‘A practical approach with lots of helpful resources, we can now ensure staff use these techniques for teaching language through literature.’

‘A practical session where we had lots of areas for discussion. I now have a better idea of how to use literature to teach the language.’

‘The course leader had a sound knowledge base.’

‘A brilliant session – thank you.’

IGCSE Training for High Tunstall English Department

Working with Christine has been a revelation. Teaching English is now fun for both me and the children. Children of all abilities have produced work of a much higher standard and are writing much more sustained pieces. It will revolutionise the way in which you teach reading and writing. It makes me think “Why haven’t I always taught like this? It makes much more sense” I would recommend this CPD to everyone.

Secondary Ready – English at Key Stage 2, 10th June 2014

Every delegate gave the course the top rating.

Course feedback included the following points about what was positive about the course:

  • A more productive approach to planning and writing, especially with high attainders
  • Scaffolding and planning – brilliant ideas
  • Ample opportunity to discuss issues and discuss best practice with course leaders and other teachers.
  • Focus on audience purpose and context shift from content to structure
  • Use of assessment to move learners forward.
  • Useful to have information about KS3 and 4 and how literacy and novels are approached.
  • How to closely analyse texts.
  • Different ways of getting children to say why particular words and phrases are effective.
  • Looking at texts to support planning and teaching of more than one genre
  • Small group discussions with fellow professionals

How delegates will use the course to support their colleagues and the students:

  • Review of school policy
  • Feedback to staff and review curriculum planning.
  • Feedback to Literacy coordinator and staff.
  • Deliver whole school CPD
  • Key Stage meeting, feedback to staff.
  • Make moderation more robust, consistent and accurate – create a moderation policy

Post course response:

I attended your recent Secondary Ready course in Newcastle and have already used some of the activities which the kids have loved!

Secondary Ready - Key Stage 2 English - Supported by Louise Bradford, Deputy Head at Crookhill Primary School

 

  • Well organised
  • Clear objectives
  • Lots of opportunities to talk and discuss issues
  • Useful tips from personal experiences
  • Action plan and wish list completed
  • Clear strategies to improve policy

Having completed the course delegates say they will:

  • Scrutinise, review and improve the whole school literacy policy
  • Implement the ideas suggested relevant to the school
  • Go back to school with ideas I can implement
  • Use leadership meeting time to promote literacy
  • Establish an effective action team

In post course support delegates stated:

  • I have managed to feedback the advice regarding the policy to my current line manager. She was really great and suggested that the advice should be followed
  •  A lot of what I have suggested based on your advice has been given the go ahead.
Implementing Whole School Literacy - 1st July 2014

The strengths of the session:

  • Interactive and develops thinking skills and how you should question.
  • To better understand critical thinking.
  • To better understand Bloom’s Taxonomy – Levels of critical thinking.
  • Made easy to understand.
  • Very creative, informative and interesting.
  • Fun session giving ideas for better questioning in class.
  • Interactive, humorous.

How today’s learning will improve your practice in school:

  • Use Bloom to create questions both in advance and on the spot.
  • Use better choice of language improve vocabulary.
  • I will use the session to expand questioning for pupils, e.g. what happened before, what happened next?
  • Think about the questions I ask and how I can use the answers given.

 

Support Staff - Questioning and an Exploration of Blooms - May 2016